Enterprise Zones

In total there are 48 Enterprise Zones in England. The original wave in 2011 created 24 sites, with 12 new online from 2016 and an additional 12 from 2017. This includes the recently announced Brierley Hill and Loughborough and Leicester Science and Innovation Enterprise Zone.

The initial 24 Zones have created more than 15,500 jobs, attracted over 480 businesses, and £2.1 billion of private investment (to end Dec 2014) across the sites. This success led to the creation of 24 additional Enterprise Zones, and the extension of 8 of the original zones. To see the full list of new and extended Enterprise Zones click here.

The LLEP area has two Enterprise Zones:

MIRA Technology Park, near Hinckley, which was designated an Enterprise Zone (EZ) in 2011. MTP is the only transport sector focused EZ.

Loughborough and Leicester Enterprise Zone is multi-site and was designated an EZ in 2017. The EZ focuses on hi-tech manufacturing, R&D, bio-pharma and the space technology industry.